• Posted by Maddy Daley 13 Aug

Introducing the 2019 Honorees of the Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Awards


Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Awards_LinkedIn




Saluting Excellence in Government Leadership


Washington, D.C. (August 13, 2019) – Government Executive announces the winners of its first annual Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Awards (“The Teddies”), honoring an all-star team of distinguished federal officials and industry leaders for outstanding achievement in delivering on government’s promise to serve the American people. The annual awards highlight noteworthy accomplishments across the federal sector across the categories of Defenders, Pathfinders, Visionaries, Masters, Directors, and Partners. A selection committee comprised of luminaries in government management and public administration, led by Editor-in-Chief Tom Shoop and Editor-at-Large Tim Clark, selected the 2019 honorees.


“This group is an outstanding team of dedicated, driven, high-performing public servants and their partners in other sectors,” said Shoop. “Their stunning accomplishments should make us all proud of the work America’s government does on behalf of its people.”


Government Executive is pleased to announce the following honorees of the first annual Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Awards:



Celebrating achievement in national security, homeland security and international affairs.


Vincent E. Urias

Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff

Sandia National Laboratories

Energy Department


Daniel Altman

Assistant Inspector General for Investigations

U.S Agency for International Development



Honoring innovative approaches to solving government’s biggest challenges.


Nitin Naik

Chief Technology Officer

Census Bureau

Commerce Department


Marianne Roth

Chief Risk Officer

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau



Celebrating excellence in the management of programs and policy implementation.


Mary Leftridge Byrd

Federal Security Director, Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport

Transportation Security Administration

Homeland Security Department


Wendi Weber

Regional Director, Northeast Region

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Interior Department



Recognizing innovation in advances in government information technology.


Mia Jordan

Assistant Chief Information Officer

Rural Development 

Agriculture Department


Greg Little


CFO Data Transformation Office

Office of the Undersecretary of Defense (Comptroller)

Defense Department



Honoring noteworthy accomplishments in science-related endeavors in a variety of areas.


Andrea T. Norris


Center for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer

National Institutes of Health


Darren A. Lytle

Senior Engineer

Environmental Protection Agency



Recognizing private-sector allies whose support and guidance of government initiatives was key to their success.


Jorge Sarmiento


Cooperative Institute for Modeling the Earth System

Princeton University


Al Tyree

Former Vice President

Business Relations and Learning Solutions

Graduate School USA


Amanda Eichert

Lead Associate

Booz Allen Hamilton


John Kamensky

Senior Fellow

IBM Center for the Business of Government




The winners of this year’s Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Awards will be celebrated at the inaugural Government Hall of Fame Gala on taking place on September 19, 2019 at Washington National Cathedral. The gala will be hosted by Margaret Brennan, Moderator of CBS News’ Face the Nation. Other high-profile speakers, including Dr. France Cordóva, Suzette Kent, and Margaret Weichert, will present awards across different categories of “The Teddies”. More information about the The Government Hall of Fame Gala is available at: www.governmenthalloffame.com.


Media interested in attending should contact Madelaine Daley at mdaley@govexec.com.



WHAT: The Government Hall of Fame Gala

WHEN: September 19, 2019, 6:30pm

WHERE: Washington National Cathedral, 3101 Wisconsin Ave. NW, Washington, D.C.


About Government Executive:

Government Executive is the essential information resource for federal government managers. Government Executive’s editorial mission is to cover the business of the federal government and its departments and agencies—dozens of which dwarf the largest institutions in the private sector. Through its award-winning digital coverage and wide array of live and digital events throughout the year, Government Executive aims to provide government agency leaders with the news and resources they need to better serve citizens. Government Executive is led by Editor in Chief Tom Shoop and Deputy Editor Katherine McIntire Peters.



Media Contact:

Madelaine Daley


(202) 266-7408

Post Comments 0